Nominations Open for Miami Beach Hispanic Heritage Month Awards

(Miami Beach, FL) Aug 5, 2019 -

The Miami Beach Hispanic Affairs Committee is seeking nominations for the 2019 Hispanic Heritage Month Awards by Friday, August 23, 2019 at 5 p.m. The Committee will select a winner in one of each of the following categories:

Individual– educator, public safety personnel, social service provider, artist, youth (under 18 involved in community service), adult contributing to the success of youth, and any Hispanic Miami Beach community.
Business– Business, Business Owner, or employee of a qualified business (must be 51%+ Hispanic owned)

Nomination forms are available at City Hall and downloadable by clicking here. Online forms and can be submitted via e-mail to or by mail to Leonor Hernandez, City of Miami Beach, Building Department Administration, 1700 Convention Center Drive, Miami Beach, FL, 33139.

In celebration of Hispanic Heritage Month, the City of Miami Beach honors those that have contributed positively to the Miami Beach community in their respective professional field and live or work in the City of Miami Beach. The nomination must include the nominee’s full name, address, phone number, and an explanation on how the person has contributed to the Miami Beach community. Detailed nominations must be received by Friday, August 23, 2019 at 5 p.m. The awards will be presented during the Miami Beach Hispanic Heritage Month Celebration on Thursday, September 19, 2019 at 6 p.m. at Miami Beach Golf Course, 2301 Alton Rd, Miami Beach, FL 33140.

The Hispanic Affairs Committee serves in an advisory capacity to the City Commission and the City Administration in respect to matters pertaining to the Hispanic community of the City Miami Beach. For more information, contact Leonor Hernandez, Liaison to the Miami Beach Hispanic Affairs Committee at 305.673.7610 Ext. 6413.

Hispanic Heritage Month Award Recipients

Jorge M Gonzalez
David de la Espriella
Victor Diaz

Eva Barreto
Liliam Lopez
Tanya Ludwig

Raymond Adrian
Alfredo Gonzalez
Aida Marrero
Jorge Martinez

Luis Alsina
Frank Carollo
Lupe Diaz
Marie Towers

Maritza Ejenbaum
Michael Gongora
Daniel Morgalo
Kelly Villoch

Kathy Abbate
Julio Blanco
Romero Britto
Nathalia Ramos
Dr. Karmenchu Santana-Vega
Diana Susi

Goldie James Maldonado
Magaly Madrid
Rafael Oviedo
Daniel Veitia

Armando Hernandez
Gabriel Paez
Howard Kaufman
Ines Flax
Pedro Martinez

Elsa Urquiza
Luis Hernandez
Maria Acosta
Margarita Cepeda
Fernando Cid de Diego

Ana Bolt
Becky Cohen
German Pena
Magnolia Martinez
Susan Riener

Mark Causey
Bryant Del Toro
Adrian Gonzalez (withdrew)
Samuel Karkassoni
Richard Martinez
Mara Mignardi
Bea Pernia

Tanya Diaz
Joe Gato
Karpawich Family
David King
Jose Rafael Martinez
Herb Sosa

Jessica Fuentes
Alejandro Llaneras
Lourdes Lopez
Willie Priegues
Carlos Rodriguez

Jorge Garcia
Leonor Hernandez
Jorge Garcia
Leonor Hernandez
Alexandra Oliva
Margueritte Ramos
Lawrence Rodriguez

Elaine Soffer Siegel
Matti Herrera Bower
Gustavo Briand
Sylvia Carro
Zorilien Riveron
Juan Sanchez
Enrique Doce
Adonis Garcia
The Miami Herald/El Nuevo
Herald and Executive Team

Dr. Rosa Lemas
Chief Virgil Fernandez MBFD
Kevin Cobas
Melina Almodovar
Sammy Gonzalez
Lisett Fernandez-Montero
Officer Mariana Garcia MBPD
Ayuda, Inc.

Victor Pulido
Rudy Perez
Michelle Viera Henson MBFD
Ernesto Rodriguez MBPD
Marisela Silva Ramirez
Miguell del Campillo
Arnold Paisero
Dr. Ana Garoz – Ojunian
Arturo Fernandez
F1rst Surf Shop