Emergency Medical Service Report Request

Medical reports are confidential. Strict Florida State Statutes and Federal guidelines must be followed prior to their release. The data contained on the medical patient report is confidential information. It is exempt from Florida State Statutes 119.07, Public Records Law, and protected under Florida State Statutes 401.30, Medical Transport Law and the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) Public Law 104‐191, Privacy Rule 45CFR Part 160‐164. EMS reports are available 10 working days after the incident provided that all applicable audits have been completed.

 

Individuals Requesting Their Own Personal Medical Records

  • The requester must present valid photo identification
  • The name on photo identification must match the name on the medical report

Requesting Medical Reports for someone else

  • Requester must obtain a HIPAA/Medical Authorization Form
  • Form must be signed by the patient of the medical report
  • The form must be provided when requesting records
  • The requester must present valid/original photo identification for both the patient and for themselves

If the patient is deceased

A Power of Attorney may obtain medical records/trustee:

  • HIPAA/Medical Authorization form must be signed by the Power of Attorney
  • Power of Attorney paperwork must be present
  • The form must be provided when requesting records
  • The requester must present valid/original photo identification for both the patient and for themselves

Or:

  • Copy of death certificate provided identifying the next of kin and/or legal documents of estate representative
  • The requester must present valid photo identification

For parents requesting medical records for children under 18

  • The parent must provide birth certificate or legal documents stating guardianship of child
  • The parent must present valid/original photo identification

For Attorney’s and Law Firms requesting medical records

  • HIPAA/Medical Authorization form must be signed by the patient, if client is deceased, they must also submit death certificate – if requesting for a minor, birth certificate must be submitted.
  • The forms must be provided when requesting records
  • These requests are emailed or mailed into our records department

After Receiving Your Request

The Miami Beach Fire Department will respond to all public records requests in a reasonable time, taking into account the extent and nature of the request. Within five business days of receiving the request, MBFD will take one of the following actions:

  • Notify the requestor of estimated costs and request payment in advance if the nature or volume of the requested records will require extensive use of information technology resources, extensive clerical or supervisory assistance, or both, in addition to the actual cost of duplication or production.
  • Inform the requestor that MBFD is working on their request and advise them about any specific circumstances affecting completion of the request.
  • Inform the requestor that MBFD is not the custodian of the public record or that federal law prohibits MBFD from providing the requested records due to HIPPA Privacy Rule or other exemptions that apply.

Fee & Payment Methods

All EMS reports requested by any via are 15 cents per page or $1.00 if subpoena plus certified postage charge. Cash payments must be made with the cashier located at City Hall, first floor (1700 Convention Center Dr.) If picking up in person, please make sure to bring the invoice you were e-mailed or the incident number & amount for reference. Keep your receipt as proof of payment and please only come to the Fire Administration Building for pick up once you have been called or emailed that the report is ready for pick up.

If making payment via check/money order mail to:

Miami Beach Fire Department

2300 Pine Tree Drive

Miami Beach, FL 33140

Report Delivery Methods – EMS Reports

EMS reports CANNOT be emailed – all reports are mailed regular mail or if requested by Subpoena, it is sent Certified Mail, as well as, picked up in person at the Fire Administration Building only after payment has been received and you have been advised report is ready for pick up.